2013 NREA Youth Tour Press Release (PDF)

For more information, contact:                                                                               

Kristen Gottschalk

Director of Government Relations





Nebraska Rural Electric Association Hosts Youth Tour to Washington, D.C.

Friday, June 14th the Nebraska Rural Electric Association (NREA), along with 23 high school students from across Nebraska began its annual week long Youth Tour of our Nation’s Capital.  Each year the NREA hosts the Tour providing rural high school students, representing their public power districts and electric cooperatives, the opportunity to see the sites of our Nation’s Capital first-hand.  While on the Tour, students will visit Gettysburg Battlefield, Mount Vernon, Arlington Cemetery, the National Cathedral and numerous other historical sites and monuments around Washington, D.C.   Participating students will also meet with the Nebraska Congressional delegation and will come together with 1,600 other rural high school students from across America for the annual National Rural Electric Cooperative Youth Day where they will learn about political engagement, leadership, and the pressing issues facing the electric industry today.     

Kristen Gottschalk, Youth Tour Director, stated: “Most of the rural students that we take on Youth Tour have never been to Washington, D.C. and would not have an opportunity like this if not for the NREA Youth Tour program and the sponsorship of the participating electric cooperatives and public power districts.  Youth Tour is a unique opportunity for these students to see first-hand our democratic government in action while at the same time visiting some of our Nation’s most historic sites.” 

This year’s sponsoring public power districts and electric cooperatives include: Custer PPD (Broken Bow), Dawson PPD (Lexington), Elkhorn PPD (Battle Creek), Highwest Energy, Inc.(Pine Bluffs, WY), Midwest ECC (Grant), Niobrara Valley EMC (O’Neill), Norris PPD (Beatrice), North Central RPPD (Creighton), Northwest RPPD (Hay Springs), Polk County RPPD (Stromsburg), Seward County PPD (Seward), Southwest PPD (Palisade), and Wheat Belt PPD (Sidney).